Dave’s Strange and Unusual World

March 23, 2008

Room for Cream…Udderly Unacceptable

Filed under: Coffee Time — dangrdave @ 2:11 am

I don’t really get the whole “room for cream” thing when I go out for a cup of coffee. When a barista says “room for cream,” he or she is really asking me if I want either a full cup of coffee or a half cup of coffee. Apparently, when the major coffee company big-wigs were signing their contracts with the devil, it was decided that America would, on average, require equal proportions of coffee and cream. What started out as a good thing has turned into a coffee lover’s nightmare. My fear is that, in the years ahead, the coffee shops will give us a cup of cream and ask us if we would like room for coffee. Now, I’ve made coffee for a very long time, so I know that the actual cost of a cup of joe is very small. Dairy products, on the other hand, have dramatically risen in price as of late, which has led some coffee chains to increase the cost of a cup of coffee. So, those of us who only want a small amount of cream are being forced to pay two forms of taxation upon our coffee, in addition to regular sales tax. First, we are paying an overall price increase on creamer that we don’t desire. Second, we are paying an unseen tax upon the full price of a cup of coffee by receiving less liquid than what we are owed. My estimates are that for every four or five cups of coffee that I buy, I lose a full cup due to the “room for cream” effect. Whenever I order a large coffee (or whatever the particular chain prefers to call it), on average, I receive a medium cup of coffee in a large cup; if I had wanted a medium cup of coffee, that is what I would have ordered. But, the baristas don’t seem to understand this. So, what I recommend is that, when you pay for a full cup of coffee ($2.00) and you only receive three-fourths of a cup of coffee ($1.50), you should reach in the tip jar and get your change ($.50).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

