Dave’s Strange and Unusual World

November 26, 2008

Sprinkle, Sprinkle Little Hagelslag

Well, I am going to take a few days off for the Thanksgiving holiday.  However, before I completely leave you alone and without direction in life, I needed to relate an interesting experience that I had this evening.  My wife and I are in part-time business with a friend and his wife.  This friend is from Holland and I never noticed any particularly strange cultural nuances before, until I met up with him this evening.

We met our friend at his house, where he was just about to sit down to “dinner.”  This is where the strange cultural nuance kicks in.  Our friend poured himself a glass of milk and then promptly started eating a weird looking sandwich that his wife had prepared for him.  I gazed at the sandwich wondering, “what is that?”  Noting the quizzical look on my face, my friend explained to me  that he was eating a sandwich consisting of butter and chocolate sprinkles (see exhibit 1 below).

spaceball1peanut_butter_sprinkleExhibit 1 (picture on loan from another website)

Apparently, this sandwich is called a “hagelslag” or something appetizing-sounding like that.  Now, I always try not to be culturally insensitive, so I didn’t comment on the sandwich.  I did, however, decide to make a cool after-dinner comment to my friend as he was looking through the pantry for something after his “dinner.”  Now, please note that he had three sandwiches prepared and only ended up eating two of them – one of them went back into the refrigerator.  Sensing that he was looking for a little after-dinner treat, I sternly announced that he should in no way think he was going to get any dessert until he finished his chocolate-sprinkle sandwich.

Anyway, I’d like to thank my fan for supporting me throughout this year.  I will remember your undying support as I eat copious amounts of turkey and ultimately slip into the three-day tryptophan-induced coma.  I am thankful for many things in my life and I would encourage you to take this holiday as a time not only to increase your waist size, but also to increase your thankfulness to God for the blessings that each of us, whether we realize it or not, enjoy.  We are blessed to live in a country where we can both eat turkeys and elect turkeys to public office.  So, I’ll be back soon…until then, have another slice of hagelslag!

spaceball

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

